Cover art by Ultra (Comfort & Joy)

Cover art by Ultra (Comfort & Joy)

Preview Clips


San Francisco-based dance label Friends With Benefits Records released James Broughton: The Music Of His Dance (Vol. 2) on June 17, 2014. The compilation is presented in conjunction with the award winning documentary film Big Joy: The Adventures of James Broughton.

Seven dance music artists—including Heartthrob (Isnisnt, Minus), Hard Ton (Killekill House Trax, Toy Tonics) and Lady Blacktronika (Sound Black Recordings)—created new, original songs that incorporate archival audio of James Broughton reading his poetry. By bringing Broughton's poetry from the page to the dance floor, this unique compilation carries the message of Big Joy to an entirely new audience.

Friends With Benefits Records, based in San Francisco, was founded in 2013 by David Sylvester, Mat Love, and Trevor Sigler, and specializes in independent dance music and promoting the work of innovative electronic musicians, with a special focus on queer-identified talent. More information on Friends With Benefits Records at

Embeddable Preview Clips:

Release Date

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Track List

1. Hard Ton - “I Believe in Ecstasy”
2. Heartthrob - “Silences of Space and Scattered Remains”
3. Lady Blacktronika - “Yes I Am”
4. Sparber - “Only Thru Body”
5. Gehno Aviance - “The Godbody”
6. Microfilm - “Is This It?”
7. Adonisaurus - “The Swimming Dancer”

Mastered by Trevor Sigler.


Friends With Benefits Records:

Big Joy: